License Pets by March 1 to Avoid $5 Surcharge
Dogs and cats in Manalapan Township must be licensed, according to municipal and state law.
If your furry feline or peppy pup is not licensed in Manalapan Township, now is the time to get the paperwork. Beginning March 1, the Township is adding a $5 surcharge to all pet license fees. Manalapan pets are required to be licensed every year, licensing begins in January and goes through to December.
All dogs and cats over the age of six months must be licensed in the Township. Licensing fees pay for the Township’s animal control services.
- Neutered/Spayed Cats or Dogs - $12
- Non-neutered Cats or Dogs - $15
Own multiple pets? The fee for the third, or more, dog or cat is reduced to $6 and $9.
The primary purpose for licensing pets is to verify that the domestic animal population – dogs and cats – are properly vaccinated against rabies, according to Manalapan Township Health Department Director Dave Richardson.
Dog licensing has been required throughout the United States since a rabies outbreak in dogs broke out in the 1940s and resulted in human fatalities; cat licensing is municipal decision. Many New Jersey towns required cat licensing after a rabies outbreak in the wild animal population, specifically raccoons, around 1990, Richardson explained. Manalapan has required cat licensing and rabies vaccinations since 1991.
New Jersey law requires Manalapan to survey the community for unlicensed dogs and there are people who canvass the area for this purpose. When a pet owner does not comply by the law after a formal notice is issued, a summons will be delivered.
Please contact the Health Department at 732-446-8346 for more information, or if you have any questions.